Petrol price cycles

Petrol prices move up and down in regular patterns or cycles. The cheapest and most expensive days to buy petrol can change from cycle to cycle. Use price cycles to help you decide when to buy petrol.

Petrol price cycles in capital cities

Petrol price buying tips for Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide, and Perth.Sydney Melbourne Brisbane Adelaide Perth

A petrol price cycle is a movement in retail price from a low point (or trough) to a high point (or peak) to a subsequent low point. In these cycles, prices steadily go down for a period followed by a sharp increase.

Price cycles are the result of deliberate pricing policies of petrol retailers, and are not directly related to changes in wholesale costs.

The duration of petrol price cycles in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Adelaide varies from cycle to cycle, and has increased in recent years.

In 2018, price cycle durations in these capital cities ranged from a low of 14 days to a high of 54 days.

Disclaimer

Historical data can only give an indication of the cheapest and most expensive days to buy petrol in the future, so consumers should use this information as a general guide only.

The charts are updated daily from Monday to Friday at around midday, and show average daily prices for the last 45 days. Updates on Mondays include prices for the preceding Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Buying tips are usually updated around midday on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

The buying tips may not always seem apparent from the charts. This is because the charts show historical prices.

The charts show average daily regular unleaded petrol for all cities except Sydney, which shows E10 prices.

Petrol prices in Sydney

Buying tip (updated Monday, Wednesday and Friday):

  • prices are decreasing but they are likely to decrease further
  • if possible, motorists should delay buying petrol until later.

The chart below shows daily average E10 petrol prices in Sydney over the past 45 days.

Daily average E10 petrol prices in Sydney over the past 45 days
Source: FUELtrac

Information on the past five price cycles in Sydney is shown below:

First day of cycle (low price) No. of days to highest price in the cycle Date of highest price in the cycle Days to next cycle (next low price) Total days in cycle
Fri 12 Oct 18 7 Fri 19 Oct 18 41 48
Thu 29 Nov 18 10 Sun 09 Dec 18 37 47
Tue 15 Jan 19 12 Sun 27 Jan 19 18 30
Thu 14 Feb 19 6 Wed 20 Feb 19 19 25
Mon 11 Mar 19 9 Wed 20 Mar 19 20 29

Petrol prices in Melbourne

Buying tip (updated Monday, Wednesday and Friday):

  • prices are decreasing but they are likely to decrease further
  • if possible, motorists should delay buying petrol until later.

The chart below shows daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Melbourne over the past 45 days.

Daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Melbourne over the past 45 days.
Source: FUELtrac

Information on the past five price cycles in Melbourne is shown below:

First day of cycle (low price) No. of days to highest price in the cycle Date of highest price in the cycle Days to next cycle (next low price) Total days in cycle
Wed 17 Oct 18 7 Wed 24 Oct 18 36 43
Thu 29 Nov 18 8 Fri 07 Dec 18 31 39
Mon 07 Jan 19 13 Sun 20 Jan 19 25 38
Thu 14 Feb 19 6 Wed 20 Feb 19 19 25
Mon 11 Mar 19 9 Wed 20 Mar 19 15 24

Petrol prices in Brisbane

Buying tip (updated Monday, Wednesday and Friday):

  • prices are decreasing but they are likely to decrease further
  • if possible, motorists should delay buying petrol until later.

The chart below shows daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Brisbane over the past 45 days.

Daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Brisbane over the past 45 days.
Source: FUELtrac

Information on the past five price cycles in Brisbane is shown below:

First day of cycle (low price) No. of days to highest price in the cycle Date of highest price in the cycle Days to next cycle (next low price) Total days in cycle
Thu 04 Oct 18 7 Thu 11 Oct 18 47 54
Tue 27 Nov 18 7 Tue 04 Dec 18 33 40
Sun 06 Jan 19 14 Sun 20 Jan 19 24 38
Wed 13 Feb 19 5 Mon 18 Feb 19 20 25
Sun 10 Mar 19 7 Sun 17 Mar 19 23 30

Petrol prices in Adelaide

Buying tip (updated Monday, Wednesday and Friday):

  • prices are decreasing but they are likely to decrease further
  • if possible, motorists should delay buying petrol until later.

The chart below shows daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Adelaide over the past 45 days.

Daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Adelaide over the past 45 days.
Source: FUELtrac

Information on the past five price cycles in Adelaide is shown below:

First day of the cycle (low price) No. of days to highest price in the cycle Date of highest price in the cycle Days to next cycle (next low price) Total days in cycle
Sun 06 Jan 19 14 Sun 20 Jan 19 12 26
Fri 01 Feb 19 4 Tue 05 Feb 19 9 13
Thu 14 Feb 19 5 Tue 19 Feb 19 17 22
Fri 08 Mar 19 5 Wed 13 Mar 19 12 17
Mon 25 Mar 19 6 Sun 31 Mar 19 10 16

Petrol prices in Perth

Buying tip

Perth currently has regular weekly petrol price cycles, with prices generally peaking on Tuesday and then decreasing to a low on Monday.

The chart below shows average daily regular unleaded petrol prices in Perth over the past 45 days.

Daily average regular unleaded petrol prices in Perth over the past 45 days.
Source: FUELtrac

Information on the past five price cycles in Perth is shown below:

First day of cycle (low price)

No. of days to highest price in the cycle

Date of highest price in the cycle

Days to next cycle (next low price)

Total days in cycle

Mon 04 Mar 19 1 Tue 05 Mar 19 6 7
Mon 11 Mar 19 1 Tue 12 Mar 19 6 7
Mon 18 Mar 19 1 Tue 19 Mar 19 6 7
Mon 25 Mar 19 1 Tue 26 Mar 19 6 7
Mon 01 Apr 19 1 Tue 02 Apr 19 6 7

If you have information that a fuel retailer is not competing fairly

Contact the ACCC

More information

Petrol, diesel and LPG

ACCC's fuel monitoring role

Tags

Audience