Small Business & Franchising Consultative Committee

The Small Business and Franchising Consultative Committee was established by the ACCC to provide a forum where competition and consumer law concerns related to the small business and franchising sectors could be discussed by industry and government.

How the committee works

The committee meetings are held twice a year, and are chaired by our Deputy Chair Mick Keogh.

Members are drawn from a range of areas and include industry associations, small businesses, legal and business advisors and academics, with a focus on ensuring membership represents the interests of the broader small business sector.

Appointment to the committee is at our discretion and members typically hold office for a period of two years.

We do not pay sitting fees or reimburse travel costs for participation – members must meet their own expenses.

Members are invited to discuss and comment on the following:

  • issues affecting the small business and franchising sectors that fall within the scope of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 and the Franchising Code of Conduct
  • emerging issues or market developments impacting on the small business and franchising sectors
  • education and information strategies developed and undertaken by the ACCC to assist the small business and franchising sectors.

Overview of functions and expectations on members ( PDF 38.38 KB )

Current membership

Industry associations

  • Restaurant & Catering Industry Association
  • Tasmanian Small Business Council
  • Real Estate Institute of Australia
  • Pharmacy Guild of Australia
  • Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals
  • Self Employed Australia (formerly  Independent Contractors of Australia)
  • Australasian Convenience & Petroleum Marketers Association
  • Australasian Association of Convenience Stores Limited
  • Master Grocers Australia
  • Australian Retailers Association
  • Australian Lottery and Newsagents Association
  • Franchise Council of Australia
  • Motor Trades Association of Australia
  • Master Builders Australia
  • Institute of Public Accountants

Academic representatives

  • UNSW Business School
  • School of Business at the University of the Sunshine Coast
  • The University of Sydney Business School
  • Deakin Business School
  • Curtin Law School

Business advisors

  • Franchise Advisory Centre
  • FC Business Solutions
  • Franchise Relationships Institute
  • Business Enterprises Centres Australia

Legal advisors

  • Law Council SME Committee
  • MST Lawyers
  • Minor DKL Food Group

Observers from various government agencies and departments also participate in meetings of the committee.

Digital platforms meeting

A special out-of-session meeting with some members of the Small Business and Franchising Consultative Committee was held on 22 February 2019. For a summary, see: Forums & key meetings

More information

Contact the ACCC